Writing on Walls

A lot of people watch How I Met Your Mother so I think it’s safe to quote Barney: “When I get sad, I stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story.”

People laugh, but actually, you should take it to heart. Wallowing in misery is necessary, of course, but only for so long. Eventually, and hopefully sooner rather than later, you need to take control of whatever you can and combat what makes you miserable. If it’s a person causing this misery, you need to do the biggest Fuck You and be awesome, more awesome than they knew you could be.

In addition to HIMYM, people know Tumblr and all those pictures with writing on them, quotes and inspirational shiet. I don’t think I need any examples of that.

My walls at home (real home) are dark coloured, but here, my school home has all white walls. Basically, my entire room is a canvas and although I’ll have to erase it all and paint it white when I move out, for now, I believe it’s necessary to take advantage of it.

It’s in the early stages because it makes my hand cramp up, but for now, this is what I look at every day (when I’m on the computer, which also means all the time):

The people before me did something to put up, presumably, a mirror, so that would be the weird rectangle stuff on the wall. And I’m not the best at freehand so my spacing is off (which means I probably shouldn’t ever try to make a font), but this is for me, so I really can’t care about that stuff.

“Live through this and you won’t look back” – Your Ex-Lover is Dead by Stars

“Pour yourself a drink, put on some lipstick, and pull yourself together” – Elizabeth Taylor

“You can never be overdressed or overeducated” – Oscar Wilde

 

There are other quotes I like, but they would just be ridiculous to put on a wall:

“I think it is high time that Mr. Bunbury made up his mind whether he was going to live or die. This shilly-shallying with the question is absurd!” – Lady Bracknell, The Importance of Being Earnest

“Do you ever feel you’ve become the worst version of yourself? That a Pandora’s box of all the secret, hateful parts – your arrogance, your spite, your condescension – has sprung open?” – Joe Fox, You’ve Got Mail

“Home is not places; it is love” – Home is Not Places by the Apache Relay

 

There is definitely more to come.

4 thoughts on “Writing on Walls

Leave a Reply

