Overnight Blueberry French Toast

A couple years ago, I slept over at Melanie’s house and her mom had made overnight French toast. Needless to say, it was delicious. I sort of forgot about trying to make one for years, but I came across a recipe and had no reason to deny it.

It was also my first time on Pinterest, which I’d heard about relatively often, but had never been on. It’s not that interesting of a site, but I guess it’s filled with things I like? Anyway, one of the entries linked to this page which had pretty awful formatting/a massive unnecessary banner (thankfully it’s changed now… Now that I don’t need to keep referring to the recipe…): http://www.chef-in-training.com/2011/05/overnight-blueberry-french-toast.html

What it’s supposed to look like:

In actuality, it isn’t a bad recipe, and it’s definitely not difficult, but it doesn’t taste like very much. You chop bread up, mix eggs and stuff, pour it over everything, toss other stuff on, leave it in the fridge overnight, stick it in the oven in the morning. Really simple.
But it doesn’t taste like much.
I’m not a big fan of cream cheese, and apparently it doesn’t spread as much as butter in the oven, so I ended up with these globs of cream cheese that I didn’t like.
The blueberries were okay, but they don’t actually provide a lot of flavour.
There were no seasonings, and so it just tasted like…nothing.
I’m not a big fan of sauces, so I didn’t make a blueberry sauce but I would have thought it was gross rather than adding more taste of blueberry and maple syrup.
I didn’t dislike the recipe enough to swear off overnight French toast, but I definitely won’t bother making this specific one again. I think I’ll look for an apple&cinnamon&nutmeg recipe because that combination cannot go wrong.
(A dozen eggs + milk + maple syrup with a dozen slices of bread)
(Ingredients combined, before it went to sleep in the fridge for however many hours)
(I think this is it done… It wasn’t as crusty as I had hoped it would be. There were clearly parts of bread that hadn’t gotten the egg mixture. I think I had been hoping for something like the top of lasagna where the cheese melts to give a crust, but there isn’t anything in overnight French toast to do that. I’m not sure why I was expecting a crust, actually.)
(It was easy to cut and didn’t taste bad, so I guess there’s that)
Leave a Reply

