Spiced Cider Whoopie Pies

Is it a failure if the result isn’t what it should be, but it’s still good?

For my own sake, I’m going to say No. Even though my cream-filled cakey sandwiches ended up looking more like giant cakey apple&spice versions of chocolate chunk cookies.

Just… look:

2
And then here’s mine…

 

You see what I mean when I say they’re like chocolate chunk cookies but instead of chocolate, they’re apple chunks? To be fair, they didn’t say how small the apple needed to be chopped up (I’m only getting recipes from food-oriented blogs from now on, for proper instructions) and so when I chopped them up thin, I didn’t know they were supposed to be chopped up invisible. Seriously, they should have said minced instead of chopped if the batter wasn’t going to hide all my rough apple bits.

I’m going to point fingers in a lot of different directions for why their products and my products differ so noticeably:

– I hate cream cheese filling. Even if that’s what makes these “whoopie pies” I opted not to do it. I would rather eat two cakey things by choice than eat half a real whoopie pie. The filling is a waste of time and ingredients.

– I might not have actually eaten a whoopie pie before. This is like the lemon bars all over again. I see recipes for things over and over again, assume they must be good, and without experience or expectations, I make it. I wasn’t sure the cakey bit would actually taste like anything and I had no idea what size they were supposed to be. The recipe didn’t say what size they were really supposed to be, so my first batch turned out massive. They didn’t spread much, so all of them are on the softer side because I didn’t know how thick they should have been to be properly baked.

– I don’t know how they got their cake bits to be so circular and uniform, but… whatever… screw them…

It’s an easy recipe and seriously, apples, cinnamon, nutmeg, and sugar can never backfire. I hope to never end up proving that statement wrong. They taste good, but the instructions leave a little to be desired, I’d chop the apple until it was invisible and bake them a little longer next time.

 

It looked promising, I think! Those apple pieces are totally reasonably sized.

 

That may be half an apple slice in that middle one, but… it’s really thin. Yeah.

 

Quite solid, in my opinion.

 

Actually, when I look at these ones and theirs, they’re pretty much identical. Pretty much.

One thought on “Spiced Cider Whoopie Pies

  1. next time use parchment paper and not tin foil and it might help them bake better. Also they probably piped them with a pastry bag to get them more circular. Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

