Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

I went home last weekend and decided I wanted to bake something that was easy and didn’t require buying anything new. That led me to oatmeal raisin cookies.

I’ve made them before – a long time ago – so I figured it was safe to get the recipe from Smitten Kitchen; her recipes have scared me since I tried making Oreos and they were a bunch of work. There’s really no way to screw up these cookies, but I guess that depends on your perspective: there’s a (strangely) large number of people out there that hate raisins, whether by themselves or baked into things. Oatmeal raisin cookies seem to be their mortal enemy and there’s this article from Cracked that says they’re awful because they’re teases of chocolate chip cookies; I think Melanie even told me she’d rather eat a plain oatmeal cookie rather than one with raisins.

In any case, I love them and actually prefer them to oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.

Though I’d like to think it’s not just me that produces ugly-looking ones.

Yum…

They don’t change shape, so they’re like clusters.

But I ate three for breakfast…and then maybe two in the afternoon. There might have been one at mid-afternoon, actually…

Leave a Reply

