Gypsy Cookies

My sister loves Gypsy Cookies from Bunners, a bakery in Toronto where all goods are vegan and gluten-free, and some organic. I find it difficult enough to make something that’s any one of those things. You’d have to get off at Keele station if you were taking the subway, so it’s a bit out of the way for her to get them so I thought I’d try making them.

I found the recipe here and I more or less stuck to it, with the exception of having no sunflower seeds (and so I tossed in more coconut and sesame seeds) and swapping dried cherries for dried pears. I didn’t know where to get dried pears (if Bulk Barn doesn’t have it, I don’t know where else would), and I’ve never actually had dried cherries, but I’m making amaretto (which requires them) so I had some on hand. If I make this again, I’d rather use raisins.

In the end, these are just like the oatmeal raisin cookies that I make a couple weeks ago: half oaty batter, half dried junk. Except this junk consisted of dried apricots, cranberries, and cherries, and toasted almonds, coconut, and sesame seeds, rather than only raisins. I don’t think these are really like the Gypsy cookies from Bunners, but I also don’t think they’re too bad (but it’s hard to go wrong with these sort of recipes). Bunners may also have a one-up on this recipe because they include chocolate chips, so if I make these again, I may toss some of those in as well.

Looks just like the batter for oatmeal raisin cookies…

They look mildly different from the oatmeal raisin cookies

The amaretto I’m making (that will get its own entry in four weeks). Looks so delicious, yeah?

Leave a Reply

