Skittles Vodka

I had been curious about skittles vodka before, but then I found a tutorial and decided it was too annoying and that I don’t like Skittles enough. But that was last year and somehow, it seemed mildly appealing to make Skittles Vodka from the same tutorial I found last year (which is what you find almost immediately when you do a Google search for it). This tutorial demands one pound of Skittles, so like a fatty, I went out to Wal-Mart and bought three bags. I’m a fucking idiot and up until writing the previous sentence, i.e. after a week of the purchase, I just realized that I’m Canadian and that grams are not the same thing as pounds. I bought 1kg of Skittles, which makes sense as to why I have one untouched bag. Oh dear god, how did I get into any sort of school at all.

Well.

Now that I’ve realized another way that I’m stupid, I’ll go on and say that because of this excess of candy, I looked up if I could infuse Skittles with other alcohols. Yes, you can (except that I don’t really like rum). I’m assuming any hard liquor, and if you don’t mind colour, it probably doesn’t have to be clear. But eww, could you imagine Skittles Gin… Skittles martinis…

Anyway, I had to buy two litres of vodka because I’m also making amaretto (which will be done in a few days), but the first tutorial gives you the ratio of vodka-to-skittles that you need:

Goddamn, those remaining Skittles are going to infuriate me, a constant reminder of the consequences of forgetting measurement conversions.

The tutorial says to separate your colours into bowls and then put the candy bowls into containers, but seriously, why create more work, when you could just put the candy directly into your containers? They also had uniform water bottles and containers, but I prefer reusing things I already have, resulting in a mismatched army of glass jars, a Coke bottle (okay, not glass), and a Cashew container (also plastic). I really didn’t have any nicer bottles, so pouring drinks will get interesting.

The last container is a mishmash of colours, but it’s mostly red, yellow, and purple. I needed to open the second bag of Skittles because I didn’t have enough orange and green (the recipe called for 60 of each colour), so I had these leftovers from the first bag. And I wanted to see how disgusting the result would be.

It looks really nifty when you first pour the vodka in.

And then it gets creepy because within three minutes, the colour sheds and you’re left with this.

The tutorial for Skittles rum didn’t seem to emphasize shaking the concoction, so I shook red, orange, and yellow, but left green, purple, and “rainbow.” I think some shaking is actually required, since things didn’t really dissolve after 24 hours, whereas the others dissolved stuff relatively quickly with more shaking.

The colours of the shaken ones are so nice and strong. The white spheres sitting in concentrated colour look creepy.

Mmmmm, looks so delicious!

Eventually you have to sift gunk out (The rum tutorial says it’s the stuff that makes the candy chewy), but here it is separating from the candy:

If you shake the bottles the next day, the white bits get all over the container and it looks disgusting. If you don’t shake the bottles, you can see a solid white layer of gunk atop the separated colours. Either way it’s unpleasant and makes you think about your Skittles consumption.

The sifting takes forever. I tried coffee filters for the first five and after about two ounces of dripping, the liquid sort of just sits in the coffee filter, as if it’s tired from going drop by drop into the measuring cup. I did one colour at a time and it took about an hour for each colour (I did three last night and the other three today). I ended up squeezing the filters to get the liquid out, leading to: faster filtering; some gunk still getting into the final product; slightly stained fingers. The red/strawberry vodka is the worst, but I don’t think it was too bad in the end.

Delectable!

I thought about using this utensil? last night but thought it wouldn’t work. My mom uses it to take the fats out of soups and it’s a really fine mesh. It turns out it makes filtering a thousand times easier, and I only used it on my last one. But as I have a pound of Skittles still, maybe I’ll do this again in the future and then use this. But can you see the gunk in the container and on the strainer? That’s not even the first round of filtering either. Seriously, rethink your Skittles/candy intake.

I haven’t tested any of the drinks yet, but I licked my fingers a bit after squeezing the filters and I think the candy is actually able to overpower the burning taste of vodka. The thing is that the orange vodka smells like our dishwashing detergent and the lemon vodka smells like our all-purpose Mr. Clean detergent; citrus and cleaning products tend to go hand in hand. Think about that as you drink questionably colourful alcohol from mismatched glass jars!

One thought on “Skittles Vodka

  1. Pingback: Amaretto « Did it Myself (DIM) projects

Leave a Reply

