Melted Crayon Art

I’ve seen so many on the internet for over a year, so I thought it must be easy. How on earth did I ruin this? … Mostly by being cheap and not buying Crayola.

I’m not even going to bother linking to a successful piece; just Google “melted crayon art” and there will be a bajillion creative and cool ones there. I wanted to try different techniques and whatnot instead of just doing a rainbow, but honestly, I’m just too bad at this. If there was something I could use in place of a blow dryer, maybe it’d be better, but I think I’d need an ample supply of lighters and gasoline in order to do what I wanted.

In any case, here they are:

Nyan cat came second because I wanted to see if making a rainbow would look more successful. It did, but then I didn’t know what to do with it. It’s not that I love Nyan Cat, although I do think almost all cats are cute. There’s something about this one’s face that looks a little more derpy, a little less anime cute, but it’s passable, in my opinion.

The second one… that was made first and turned out unfortunately because I had no idea what I wanted and what I was doing. The typical technique is that you glue crayons down, tilt your canvas, put your blow dryer onto high setting, and watch shit drop down. I decided to see what would happen if I laid the canvas down flat.

It turns out that the colours spread out sideways, barging in on each others territory, and colours spread out in thin waves. This is also what happens when you used crayons of different brands because things melt at different rates. I had one very large blue crayon that melted the fastest and just went everywhere.

I should also mention that the canvas shown up there has been painted over… and I mean even the crayons have been painted over. The original is significantly more dystopic and has a little bit of what nightmares are made of:

I hadn’t decided how smooth or bumpy I wanted it to turn out, which is something you generally want to know before or while you’re making things. I hadn’t decided if I wanted things to melt both above and below the actual crayons, which, again, is helpful in making a product you’re happy with.

By the way, the colour combination should look somewhat familiar, as the Test Pattern/Stand By

Nyan Cat was a little better because I used all the same brand for that one, but the green and yellow still turned out funny. I painted over those too because the green melted so much at the top that only the glue from the glue gun was left over.

The wax that dripped off this canvas mixed together and I couldn’t figure out what to do with them. The only way to put it into this picture would make it look like Nyan Cat had diarrhea that was falling on itself, so I left it out:

Making this sort of art isn’t hard at all, and it isn’t very expensive. I’m just cheap and bad at it.

Leave a Reply

