Iced Sugar Cookies

This attempt turned out pretty well… surprisingly and thankfully.

It was one of my best friend’s birthday on Thursday so I made her a bunch of sugar cookies, symbolising things that I thought of when I thought of her. I usually avoid making icing, but the cookies needed them for some details; to my surprise, I made icing of the right consistency and it may have been royal icing. I think royal icing is that one where you can pipe something, let it set, and then it’ll be hard so you can fill in the outline with more details. But I was lazy and was only using white icing to draw stuff on, so that was a little useless.

Anyway, I think I’m really funny, so here we go:

2013-02-20 08.57.56

The first set of cookies as dough (picture taken just in case they turned into big blobs; I thought the Gameboy was pretty cute)

2013-02-20 10.51.37

Iced versions of the cookies. KD (carbs/pasta), lighting bolt (Harry Potter), women (feminism), Gameboy, Witch’s hat (Wicked), a bear…or Mickey Mouse…, two hands (it’s the symbol of Nerdfighters), alcohol, minivan, L (Longo’s symbol), basketball (because she’s tall), A on an assignment, … the Tardis… (I was too bad to write “Tardis” on it), soccer ball (the web-looking one), a nickle (family from Sudbury), a euro (where most of her travels are).

2013-02-20 10.57.22

A really big spider; an offensive, stereotypical Asian.

After I piped the cookies that I had planned for her birthday (roughly 21 things), I cut out randomly-shaped cookies, either rolling into shapes or using cutters that I had, of turkeys or lambs. Because I think I’m really funny, I piped on inappropriate words and made cocks’n’balls:

2013-02-20 10.50.07

I guess I could have taken that cookie out from the bottom left, since that was what I wiped icing onto when too much was spewing from the piping bag… and it looks sort of gross… But let’s pretend it adds to the theme of this set.

2013-02-20 10.50.54

Cocks’n’balls, piles of poo, and fart!

2013-02-20 10.56.19

“Fart” on a turkey, “Poo” on a sheep, “Ass” on a bear 😀

2013-02-20 10.58.24

I had icing left over so I thought I would just squeeze it out onto the parchment paper and toss it out together. Turns out I had a lot more icing than I thought…

2013-02-20 10.54.37

I had quite a bit of icing left after piping out “Penis!” and so I thought I would write out a nicer message. It turns out that my piping gets a lot worse when I’m supposed to be writing something less vulgar.

2013-02-20 10.51.16

Most of the cookies, with the spare icing 🙂

2013-02-20 11.05.27

For the cookies that I didn’t give to my best friend, I put them into our cow cookie jar. This is what you see when you take off the lid. Ha ha ha I am the best.

3 thoughts on “Iced Sugar Cookies

  1. Pingback: Death Star Pinata | Did it Myself (DIM) projects

  2. Pingback: First: End of Dating & Hectic (Adventurous?) Reading Week | We can't see past our sad stories

  3. Pingback: First: End of “Dating” & Hectic (Adventurous?) Reading Week | Don't slip into one more of those little tragedies

Leave a Reply

