Lemongrab Doll

First of all, this is best if you know what the show Adventure Time is like.
Second, this is better if you’re familiar with Lemongrab: http://youtu.be/mGGFuWkSRZY

I made my brother watch the video and he didn’t seem to think it’s as hilarious as I do. In any case, my close friend at school (for whom the cake pops were made) thinks Lemongrab is actually cute.

Lemongrab

If I can think of something, I like to get/make things for people that are long-lasting, i.e. baking things for birthdays is nice but I like being able to point at things and say that I got it from this person for this reason. So I decided to make my friend a Lemongrab doll.

I accidentally spent Saturday baking, so I only started the doll around 8pm. I had drawn up the sketches the night before, and I’ll state right now that there are no good pictures of these drawings (because of camera quality! Previous experience has shown that I’m a very skilled artist). I had to wake up early the next day to go back to school so I ended up rushing, and a lot of my stitching is not very good quality.

2013-03-31 01.11.23

I even skipped out on stuffing his arms and legs, but he’s so spindly that it worked out. Actually, he was supposed to have fingers, but that didn’t work out, so he ended up with small rectangles for hands. They worked out because his arms turned into L-shapes that sort of give him balance.

2013-03-31 01.10.55

Although for a while, he looked like a yellow Slenderman who had bumped his head.2013-03-31 01.37.15

I finished all the sewing on Saturday, and made his accessories (belt, sword, … face) out of paper when I got back to school. It makes him look extra cartoony, and I like it that way.

In the episode where Lemongrab is introduced, there’s a prank with a sign:https://i1.wp.com/data.whicdn.com/images/42858534/dog_buns_large.gif

I altered the font a bit to make the doll a sign.

The final result:

2013-03-31 17.34.09

(If you’ve ever seen Bridget Jones’ Diary, my favourite thing to come out of that movie is, “I like you, just as you are.”)

(I hope you watched the clip of Lemongrab, because he’s known for yelling, “UNACCEPTABLE”)

(Apparently the only projects that come out mostly successfully are the sewing ones.)

3 thoughts on “Lemongrab Doll

  1. Pingback: Sewing Pockets into a Dress | Did it Myself (DIM) projects

  2. He’s so cute! You made it look so easy, too. Did you laminate or reinforce the paper to make it more durable? I’m trying to figure out how to make one about the size of a baby doll for a cosplay, although my sewing is not the best.

    • Thanks! I’m glad you like him. To be honest, I didn’t even think of doing anything to the paper, but that probably would have been a good idea for the long term. I’m sure there are online sewing tutorials that you could look at if you wanted to improve your sewing quickly, but actually, one of my friends is a cosplayer and she benefitted a lot from taking a sewing course (probably ten week course) this summer. Before, she did some okay sewing, but one time, she was Ash Ketchum and I think her hat or shirt was stapled together… But now she’s sewn quite a few stuffed animals that look quite good and she’ll be able to make more things herself in the future. I think if cosplaying is something that you quite like to do, getting actual lessons for sewing could help a lot.

Leave a Reply

