Pumpkin Pie

I made a pumpkin pie earlier this semester, but honestly, when you’re using a premade crust, buying canned pumpkin, and dumping common spices into it, it’s not really a feat.

I made “double-layered pumpkin cheesecake” last night, but how much harder is that? (It isn’t at all.) I don’t even like the layer of plain cream cheese, so what I would have preferred would be a pumpkin cheesecake, or maybe just pumpkin pie.

2013-12-25 20.36.06

I used my homemade vanilla extract last night and wow, did I … not taste a difference from store-bought stuff. Is it because I have an unrefined palette? Or is that the point? Would it have mattered if I had used vodka instead of rum? Should I have a taste of the extract to test it? I have no idea. But before it was clear and now it isn’t.

2013-12-25 20.36.27So, y’know, that’s what’s been going on in my life. Super exciting experiments / I’ve no time or motivation for anything. Let’s hope that changes and that there’s more to come.

Leave a Reply

