Baking Soda & Vinegar Experiment

I’ve never known a school to actually do a science fair, but in tv shows, it seems to be a real thing. Canada and America are similar in a lot of ways, but maybe this is an almost-strictly American thing to do. Anyway, the show will often have everyone being unoriginal and making a volcano with baking soda and vinegar, and then the main character is weird/inventive and much better than the rest. I wanted to be monotonous like all these other background characters and do this experiment (because I spend the rest of my life as the weird main character har har). Except I have no use for a volcano and naturally, had to turn it into something at which my mom would grimace.

DSC_1489I made mulled wine for the first time the other night. It wasn’t worth documenting but it turned out more like lukewarm sangria than it did a hot spiced red wine. Looks like I’ll have to make another attempt at it. Boo hoo. Anyway, I used one of the empty bottles from that experiment for this. I had been meaning to do this experiment in the summer and make a whole person out of papier mache, but I was too lazy to try this until today when I was too restless to not do something new. And then I wanted to make a sketchbag but the more I look at this, the more I think it looks like that main character from Hannibal (the tv show).

What happened with my baking happened here because I didn’t properly measure anything. Actually, the first time we (my friend and I) went to the park to do this, I forgot to bring baking soda. … In my defense, I remembered to bring the bottle, vinegar, food colouring, and funnel… The first attempt was a bit of a bust, but here it is anyway:

I really wanted the vomiting effect, so there’s this:

And I wanted more of an explosion, got a dud, and the extent of my video recording skills is really showcased:

I’m definitely going to try this again in the future. I’ll get my hands on some yellow food colouring (only had blue and green…from the “red” “velvet” cupcakes…), hopefully have a clear bottle, dump one million more … something (baking soda? I assume I just need more baking soda), and uh… something will work. I want a properly hilarious vomiting bottle made from baking soda and vinegar. For the time being, I’m satisfied though.

DSC_1505

Leave a Reply

