Scratch Cards & Other Christmas Stuff

I’ve been waiting a long time to find a reason to try making scratch off stuff. This is the original post where I found out you can make the scratch off stuff yourself but I didn’t want to make an advent calendar for no reason.

But then one of my groups of friends wanted to do Secret Santa and the person I got had quite an extensive list of things on their wishlist, which included “lotto tix so I can become rich hahaha”. I bought her a scratch card*, but figured I finally had an excuse to try this scratch stuff.

(* Note: I actually bought her two scratch cards, but I’m almost 23 and have never bought any sort of lottery thing. So, err, I just… took one. And I lost. Duh. … EXCEPT THAT SHE WON $20 WITH THE ONE I GAVE HER.)

DSC_0295

Incredibly sophisticated, I know. I didn’t actually make a winning card because I had no idea how to give her a gift (aside from tossing it at her), only in the case she scratched the cards in front of me (which I wasn’t anticipating, but which is what she did). I’m really good at making scratch cards (look at how the white lines of the borders just line up! I did that freehand. SKILLS.), but I’m also really bad as in I make losing cards and give terrible guaranteed prizes.

DSC_0296

I’m going to give you some advice: try out your soap-paint mixture prior to your actual product, especially not the day you’re supposed to give the gift. This stuff takes longer to dry than regular paint and – I only realized this after I painted a few circles – there is the chance that your mixture proportions aren’t right, and you may just paint over what’s underneath.

Also, thoroughly read instructions and don’t leave things to the last minute. I hadn’t read the instructions to the link I posted above and didn’t know I needed some sort of paper. I scoured the internet to see if it was possible to do the scratch off stuff without the paper and, well, you can, but you’re getting wikiHow-quality crafts. I added a little bit more soap to the second scratch card and I don’t know if that worked any better, but, um, yeah, try things out before putting a mixture with ambiguous proportions onto your final product which took effort to make.

Another thing that my Secret Santa recipient asked for was a Christmas tree ornament for McMaster University. Our budget was $15 and the ornament was $12, so like the excellent Secret Santa that I am, I put quite a bit of effort into making her a crappier version of what she actually wanted.

DSC_0226

And because I do child-like crafts, you guys certainly don’t need a tutorial on how to trace a shape, a larger version of that shape, cut those out, colour things, and glue them together. Ta-da! Delicate and dainty crafts that adults make. (Why does anyone follow my blog?)

DSC_0294

DSC_0298

DSC_0299

As you can see from all of these aerial shots of the work process and shit, I’ve been testing out more quintessential blogger angles. I guess I like them? Anyway, I wrap things in craft paper and twine because I’m a hippy (paper and twine are biodegradable and natural) and such a blogger. Look at that blogger-level skill of tying a bow and shoving some plant in for visual contrast. Nice.

DSC_0232

The alternative is that I crappily colour the package in which your present was delivered.

DSC_0228

As an experienced blogger, I took a blank card and added so much of my artistic skill and took a photo of the materials I used to make this creative and delicate pattern.

DSC_0231

To contrast the vibrant and delicate lines of blue, yellow, and grey background, I wrote my friend’s name on in a darker colour and with more crude penmanship. And to contrast THAT, I wrote her name delicately and in a sleek fashion on the envelope. Needless to say, this friend got a present in an old Shoppers Drug Mart bag and a fold-your-own gift box sent in the mail by some dairy product company. Because I’m a blogger.

Leave a Reply

